Asia Cup: India vs Pakistan match

10 shares, 1 point


Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.


NEW DELHI: Ahead of Wednesday’s India vs Pakistan clash in Dubai at the Asia Cup, here’s a look back at the top five matches between the two teams in the history of the tournament. India lead Pakistan in the Asia Cup head-to-head by a whisker, having emerged victorious on six occasions and losing five matches, while one match was washed out.

April 13, 1984: India won by 54 runs in Sharjah

The very first edition of the Asia Cup was held in the UAE in 1984 which India won by defeating arch-rivals Pakistan in the final. After opting to bat, India got off to a steady start with Surinder Khanna and Ghulam Parkar adding 54 runs for the opening wicket. While Khanna was the top-scorer with a 56 run knock. Sandeep Patil (43) and skipper Sunil Gavaskar (36 not out) put on a 78-run stand for the fourth wicket to guide India to 188/4 in 46 overs.

Pakistan seemed to have chased down the modest target till the time Mohsin Khan was batting but his dismissal triggered a collapse and the Men in Green lost wickets at regular intervals. Pakistan was bowled out for 134 in 39.4 overs. Roger Binny and Ravi Shastri were the picks of the bowlers with three wickets apiece while four Pakistani wickets fell in the form of run-outs.

June 26, 2008: India won by 6 wickets in Karachi

Playing in front of his home crowd in Karachi, Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik attacked the Indian bowlers as he bludgeoned his way to an unbeaten 125 off 119 balls before being retired hurt. Malik hit 16 fours and a six. Younis Khan also contributed with a 59-run knock that came off just 60 balls, whereas Mohammad Yousuf (30) and Misbah-ul-Haq (31 not out) chipped in with useful cameos to propel Pakistan to 299/4 in 50 overs.

In their daunting chase, India was in trouble early as they lost Gautam Gambhir cheaply. But Virender Sehwag and Suresh Raina took on the Pakistan bowlers and left them clueless with their onslaught. The duo went on to put on a staggering 198-run stand to ensure India’s victory. Sehwag blasted 119 off 95 balls while Raina chipped in with 84 off 69 balls. Yuvraj Singh (48) and MS Dhoni (26 not out) also made handy contributions as India romped home in just 42.1 overs.

July 2, 2008: Pakistan won by 8 wickets in Karachi

The two teams were pitted against each other in the super fours stage in the 2008 edition of the Asia Cup. Having suffered defeat in the group stage, Pakistan hit back by registering an 8 wicket victory over India in another high-scoring match. India, who opted to bat first, got off to a blistering start with Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir put on 88 runs in just 10.3 overs. Skipper MS Dhoni (76) and Rohit Sharma (58) hit the fifties before Irfan Pathan’s late surge (38 not out) powered India to 308/7.

Salman Butt and Nasir Jamshed gave Pakistan a solid start in their pursuit of 309, adding 65 runs in 8 overs. Jamshed scored quick-fire 53 off 43 balls before retiring hurt. Younis Khan and captain Misbah-ul-Haq then stitched an unbeaten 144-run partnership to hand Pakistan a convincing eight-wicket victory with 27 balls remaining. But this defeat did not stop India from making it into the final where they went down against Sri Lanka.

March 18, 2012: India won by 6 wickets in Dhaka
This match can easily be termed the best clash between the two nations at the Asia Cup that saw current skipper Virat Kohli playing his best ODI knock of 183 in a huge chase of 330.

Opting to bat first, Pakistan openers Mohammad Hafeez and Nasir Jamshed took apart the Indian bowling attack, going on to notch up hundreds and put on 224 runs for the first wicket. Younis Khan’s blitzkrieg in the middle order steered Pakistan to a mammoth 329/6.

While chasing, India suffered a big blow in the form of Gautam Gambhir who fell for a duck. But that did not deter India at all as Sachin Tendulkar and Kohli fired on cylinders to give Pakistan a taste of their own medicine with a 133-run stand. Kohli then forged a 172-run partnership with Rohit Sharma to script a six-wicket victory for the Men in Blue. Kohli smashed 22 fours and a six during his 148-ball stay at the crease to notch up what is still his highest ODI score of 183

March 2, 2014: Pakistan won by 1 wicket in Dhaka

We should learn from Kohli how to laugh at own defeat just after the match. How to abuse, how to show figure. Shameless captain India ever had.

After inviting India to bat, Pakistan bowlers justified their skipper Misbah-ul-Haq’s decision by removing Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli early. However, the fifties by Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu and Ravindra Jadeja took India to 245/8.

Sharjeel Khan and Ahmed Shehzad gave Pakistan a steady start by adding 71 runs for the opening wicket and lay the foundation in their chase of 246. Spinners Amit Mishra and Ravichandran Ashwin then led India’s fightback with quick wickets and left Pakistan tottering at 113/4 in 22.2 overs. Mohammad Hafeez held up one end with his gritty 75-run knock while wickets kept falling at regular intervals. Shahid Afridi rose to the occasion with his unbeaten 34 off 18 balls and hit R Ashwin for two big sixes in the last over to take Pakistan to a memorable one-wicket win.

Like it? Share with your friends!

10 shares, 1 point