10 Vegetarian food items that are actually non-vegetarian


0
3 shares

In this world of contamination and adulteration you can hardly expect anything pure. You will be surprised to know that the most nutritious orange juice is actually non-vegetarian. Read to know these daily food items that are commonly found in every vegetarian household are actually non-vegetarian in nature.

  • Dear vegetarians, you will be surprised to know that the star of every outdoor meal –Naan, is actually not vegetarian. All the authentic naan recipes use egg while kneading the dough, as it helps in keeping the dough soft and elastic. However, this technique is not used everywhere, so all you need to do is to check with the chef and place the order accordingly.
  • As a vegetarian, do you also love salads with exotic dressing? If yes, then you will be disappointed to know that those colourful and spicy dressings are many a time, non-vegetarian. Yes, you heard it right. They may contain eggs and that might be a big NO for you. If you are an eggitarian, then relax and keep relishing the exotic salads.
  • All the vegetarians who drool over cheese dishes have a sad news. Some varieties of cheese contain an enzyme called Rennet, that is derived from gastrointestinal tract of animals.
  • In the tussle of whether sugar is better or honey, the former has lost one more point because of the adulteration that makes it unfit for pure-vegetarians. If you don’t know, sugar is not naturally white. It is artificially polished with the use of bone char. Even the brown sugar and confectionary sugar are treated with the same element also called ‘natural carbon’.

  • Love red coloured food? According to a research, red candies and other red foods get their colour from food dyes and some of them may come from insects and worms. The dye is extracted from the female Dactylopius coccus costa, or cochineal insect.
  • Orange juice contains vitamins and minerals that keep heart healthy. But this healthy drink might not be suitable for vegetarians because it contains added omega-3 fatty acids which come from fish oils. The abundant vitamin D in the juice is derived from lanolin, a natural oil found in the fibre of sheep’s wool. However, this does not apply to all packed orange juices.
  • From now on, you may stop treating your vegetarian friends with those colourful doughnuts because it has been revealed that they contain an enzyme called L. Cysteine which is used for conditioning the dough. And shockingly the conditioning agent is made from duck feather and pig trotter. However, not all donuts are made like this, so what we recommend is, just be aware and careful!
  • While many dark and white chocolates are considered apt for vegetarians, there are a few chocolates that use whey powder which may contain a coagulating enzyme called- Rennet, that is extracted from calf’s stomach after slaughter. Better read the ingredient details before buying your bar of happiness.
  • We all know that those yummy chewing gums contain gelatine, but we hardly know that they are not appropriate for pure-vegetarians, because the gelatine used in them comes from the skin, tendons, ligaments and bones of pigs and cows.
  • Are you among those vegetarians who keep experimenting with cake mixture at home? If yes then this is nothing more than a shock that those ‘Eggless’ mixtures also contain pork fat or lard, that helps in making the batter light, fluffy and pale in colour.

Disclaimer: These parameters do not apply to all products in these categories and may be applicable only in some cases.


Like it? Share with your friends!

0
3 shares
DG